top of page

Another Way God Speaks


The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The skies display his craftsmanship.

Day after day they continue to speak; night after night they make him known.

They speak without a sound or word; their voice is never heard. Yet their message has gone throughout the earth, and their words to all the world.

God has made a home in the heavens for the sun. It bursts forth like a radiant bridegroom after his wedding. It rejoices like a great athlete eager to run the race.

The sun rises at one end of the heavens and follows its course to the other end. Nothing can hide from its heat.

Psalm 19

As August hits we feel the impact of the sun and the drastic heat. I read David's Psalm this morning and picture him standing on the balcony gleaming at the starlit skies at night and embracing the sunrise in the morning. Can you see him? Looking up at the heavens? His attention is focused on the beauty and works of the Lord. And he does something we all should do – listen. The heavens speak of God’s glory and beauty and David stands and soaks it in. David’s thoughts and attention are focused on God.

I am corrected through his actions and reminded that I too need to find time to sit beneath the heavens and listen. I need to find time in the midst of my suffering to soak in God’s beauty – and I need to listen as David did to God speaking through His craftsmanship. God's words will come. Peace will follow.

And through those moments of meditation David asks the Lord, “May the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

Far too often I complain about the weather, heat, and temperature. I complain about those things God created. My mouth speaks before I think of words that please the Lord.

I pray I make it a point to find time to sit and turn my

thoughts toward God. Whatever you’re facing today, find time to sit beneath God’s beauty and meditate upon Him. He has the answers. He gives the peace. He is Peace.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page